Archive for Album Release

Green Day Have Plenty Of New Songs for Ninth Album!

Green Day’s Billie Joe Armstrong has said the Californian band have begun writing material for their ninth album.

The singer tweeted saying the group had “a tonne of new songs” and described the direction as “fresh and hi-energy”. Billie Joe Armstrong, who’s 39, added that making the album “felt great”. The punk-pop outfit’s most recent album 21st Century Breakdown was released in 2009. They also made available a Live DVD and album of the band during their 2009 world tour.

“I don’t want to give away too much but just know that me, Mike, Tre and Jason are collaborating and having the best time playing music,” he said. Full Story at BBC


R.E.M. Announce New Album ‘Collapse Into Now’

R.E.M.’s Peter Buck believes new album ‘Collapse Into Now’ is packed with “great songs” from start to finish and sees the band recapturing their “classic” sound.

In the past the guitarist may have been reluctant to talk up the band’s new material but in the case of ‘Collapse Into Now’ he feels altogether upbeat about what will be R.E.M.’s 15th studio album.

Speaking to the NME, Buck said, “I’ve always tended to not say it’s the greatest record we’ve ever done because that’s what everyone does and it’s usually bull—-. But this feels like every song all the way through is great.”

He continued, “I hate to say that, but that’s just the feeling. It’s got some beautiful, heartbreaking things and well as some really noisy rock and everything in between. It sounds really classic.” Full Story at Spinner

New Michael Jackson Album and World Tour Announced!

Even after his untimely death last year, Michael Jackson continues to make waves… and stir controversy. The current announcement that a long-rumored album of recent, unreleased material — simply titled ‘Michael’ — will, in fact, drop on Dec. 14 has already done both.

Rolling Stone reports that at least one of the tracks, ‘Breaking News,’ was recorded in New Jersey in 2007 and is very likely part of a batch of songs Jackson recorded with producer Eddie Cascio. According to TMZ, Jackson’s children dispute the fact that it’s their father singing on the track, while others involved with the project claim the children are being intentionally misled by Jackson’s mother, Katherine. Jackson’s estate, meanwhile, claims that sound experts have confirmed the track’s authenticity. All this and yet most details about the album have yet to be unveiled. A trailer for the release will appear on Michael Jackson’s official website on Friday, while ‘Breaking News’ will stream from the site the following week. Full Story at Spinner

Black Eyed Peas Announce New LP Title & Release Date!

The Black Eyed Peas have announced that their next album will be called The Beginning.

The LP, which is the sequel to their almost US triple-platinum record, The E.N.D, is due for release on 30th November.

Frontman Will.I.Am has previously revealed that he has produced three of the 12 new songs featured on The Beginning, while superstar DJ, David Guetta, has put his name to two new tracks.

The Peas have also worked with the likes of relatively unknown Damien ‘DJ Ammo’ LeRoy on four tracks for the record, who is known for playing parties for Will, Fergie and OutKast.

Will also stated to The Associated Press earlier this year that the new BEP LP symbolises “growth, new beginnings and starts, fresh new perspective.” Full Story at Mtv

Fiona Apple Announce New Piano Album For 2011!

As TwentyFourBit reports, it’s looking like piano-pop whiz Fiona Apple is slated to return with her first new album in six years sometime in early 2011. In the new issue of Modern Drummer, drummer/producer Charley Drayton reveals he was enlisted to co-produce and mix the new Apple set. Drayton himself is an experienced studio musician, recording over the years with such artists as Neil Young, Johnny Cash, Iggy Pop, Keith Richards and Mariah Carey.  Full Story at Spinner

Gucci Mane Announces iTunes Singles Release & Tour

Gucci Mane’s recently announced the date for is new single release scheduled for Sept. 28  2010. The record will be release through Warner Bros, Record.

The album features guest appearances from Wyclef Jean, Pharrell, Swizz Beatz, Bun B, , Ray J, Nicki Minaj and Estelle.

Gucci will hit the road this fall, staring in Chicago sept.6 and will continue touring every where in the USA, from Chicago to Atlanta performing a total of 22 show for is upcoming single release.

US 2010 Tour dates :

Mon 9/6      Chicago, IL
Tue 9/7     Chicago, IL
Wed 9/8     Detroit, MI
Thu 9/9     Cleveland, OH
Fri 9/10     Los Angeles, CA
Sat 9/11     Los Angeles, CA
Sun 9/12     Los Angeles, CA
Tue 9/14     Philadelphia PA & Baltimore, MD
Wed 9/15     Washington, DC
Thu 9/16     Charlotte, NC
Fri 9/17     Pompano Beach, FL
Sat 9/18     Houston, TX
Sun 9/19     New Orleans, LA
Mon 9/20     Houston + Dallas, TX
Tue9/21     Dallas, TX & Oklahoma City/Tulsa, OK
Wed 9/22     Little Rock, AR
Thu 9/23     Memphis, TN
Fri9/24     Jackson/Biloxi, MS
Sat 9/25     Mobile, AL
Sun 9/26     Minneapolis, MN
Mon 9/27     New York, NY
Tue 9/28     Atlanta, GA

by Miko Hirayama

Pete Yorn Releases ‘Precious Stone’ Single

Pete Yorn has released the first single from his upcoming self-titled album. Titled ‘Precious Stone,’ the rollicking new song, which is part of an 11-song set produced by Pixies frontman Frank Black (aka Black Francis), can be had at Yorn’s official website.

The track is in keeping with Black’s comments on the project, which started last year. “Pete told me he wanted to better define himself as an artist,” Black said in a release. “I think he just wanted to rock out. But as we headed down a path of realization I stripped him down a whole bunch. We battled in the best sort of way. I tried to get the session into a fearless and raw place.” Full Story at Spinner