Del the Funky Homosapien Destined to Make a Platinum Hit!


After a long night in the studio, Del the Funky Homosapien was given a challenging task: Write a rap for the Gorillaz single ‘Clint Eastwood’ in 30 minutes or less. For many, the assignment would be daunting. But Del, also known as Teren Devlon Jones, had a secret weapon.

“I had just read a book called ‘How to Write a Hit Song,’ and it gives you the steps on basically what you should be thinking about when you’re writing a song that you would like over a million people to listen to,” he tells Spinner.

At the time, Del was working in the studio with producer Dan “The Automator” Nakamura on a Deltron 3030 project. Simultaneously, Nakamura was working with Blur’s Damon Albarn on the first Gorillaz album. While another rapper had recorded parts for the debut single, Nakamura wanted to hear Del’s take.

“He was like, ‘Since I’ve got you here, Del, I know you’re talented, and I know you can whip a rap real quick, in like 10 or 15 minutes. Can you do that for me?'” Del recalls. “I didn’t want to do it. I wanted to go home. We had already been up all night working on Deltron. We had finally finished. I’m ready for him to take me home. But he was like, ‘Come on, man. You know you can do it in, like, 15 or 30 minutes.’ So I’m like, ‘OK.’ I whipped it up.” Full Story at Sipnner

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

